Mr. Red Café….?! It’s Not What You Think It Is.

Doesn’t the name Mr. Red Café sound mesmerizing? When I first read the restaurant’s name my initial thought was a standard bakery / coffee shop. To my amazement, it was actually a Vietnamese restaurant. Without question, my boyfriend and I decided to have dinner here one evening.

The establishment is located on Hastings Street close to the Nanaimo Street intersection. The restaurant is quite compact, but has a delightful ambiance with red walls and decor. Hence, the name Mr. Red Café. The restaurant itself has definitely generated a crowd of returning customers as it can get quite busy throughout the night.

2014-10-19-19-06-09_deco_resized

Their food selection is quite fitting for a small pho restaurant. All their noodles in soup come in one size only. I ordered my usual Bun Bo Hue ($8). I have to say the soup base was quite spicy which I loved. However, I should have been more careful with my lingering cough as the spiciness exacerbated it. The presentation of the dish makes my mouth water as they top it off with a generous amount of mixed meats and lots of diced up greens such as parsley and onions. Needless to say, the noodles were cooked perfectly.

2014-10-19-19-04-53_deco_resized

My boyfriend ordered the Sliced Rare Beef & Beef Balls with Rice Noodle in Soup ($8). He also received a decent amount of meat along with his noodles. I tried a bit of his soup and it was also superb as it was flavourful and not too oily. The proportion size of the dish definitely filled me up.

2014-10-19-19-05-29_deco_resized2014-10-19-19-07-23_deco_resized
I have a strong feeling I will be coming here more often as it is getting very cold these days and I would love to have a hot bowl of pho noodles in front of me to warm me up! Although, I certainly do not mind trying out their other popular dishes as well!

Time to get your grub on! 🙂

-Julie

Mr. Red Cafe on Urbanspoon

One comment

Leave a Reply

