By No Means, Try It If You Insist.

2015-03-08-19-24-28_deco_resized

At last I finally joined the clan to see what all the talk was about surrounding Ramen Butcher, a new ramen joint that opened on Georgia Street in Chinatown. I have heard mixed reviews regarding this place and I really wanted to judge it base on my own personal experience. Of course at the time it was a newly opened establishment, there was no doubt that there would be long line ups. The restaurant is quite compact and barely enough space to move around. Therefore, I decided it would be smart of me to wait for the “hype” to die down before giving this place a try.

What are my takes on their ramen? I ordered the Classic Tonkatsu Ramen with a thick slice of fatty pork ($8.95). The pork was overly fat for my liking, but tender for the most part. On the other hand, I was not attracted to their in-house made noodles as they resembled too much like thin egg noodles. I prefer the usual thicker ramen noodles that are cooked more firm and chewy but not overly soft. My order came with minced ginger which I disliked because it overpowered the actual flavouring of the broth.

2015-03-08-19-25-10_deco_resizedMy boyfriend ordered the most popular Black Tonkatsu Ramen with a thick slice of fatty pork. His broth contained roasted garlic oil and a medium boiled marinated egg ($10.95). For the most part, he found his broth to be very flavorful as the garlic oil deepened the taste. Similarly, he was also not too fond of the noodles although he did quite like his fatty pork. Nevertheless, he still ordered a free refill bowl of noodles to satisfy his hunger.

2015-03-08-19-26-06_deco_resizedWe also ordered the Okonomi Gyozas ($5.95). I thought their gyozas stood out more to me. They had a lot of pork filling inside that was very juicy. They were also pan fried nicely and had a nice overall presentation on the dish.

2015-03-08-19-27-25_deco_resizedAs crazy as it sounds I may return for more gyozas, but definitely not for their ramen. I did not find that “wow” factor in their ramen that would make me itch for more and there are definitely better ramen options in the city.

Julie

Ramen Butcher on Urbanspoon

2 comments

  1. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really annoying. A good blog with exciting content, that is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

