Shanghai Dumplings

A Hotspot in Seattle

If I am ever out of the city, I do not hesitate and try other Shanghai food places. If I am lucky enough to find a decent Shanghai restaurant, I am all in for the Xiao Long Baos! My family and I decided to snack at Din Tai Fung at University Village in Seattle a few weeks back. Based on the popularity and raging reviews about this place, it triggered us into desperately wanting to give this place a try! The restaurant can certainly accommodate large groups of parties at once; however, because it is so well-known, it can be at least an hour wait. But I can guarantee you, it is worth the wait.

We decided to order four trays of Pork Xiao Long Baos and a tray of Vegetable & Pork Dumplings ($10.99).

Shanghai Food

Shanghai Dumplings

These little gems were fantastic! They were decently sized and beautifully shaped. Best of all, they were sealed with very flavourful soup as I had a great time sipping and eating the baos at the same time. In addition, the dumpling skin was outstanding as it was at a reasonable thickness. I can certainly tell that the quality and craftsmanship are top notch just by taking my first bite. The pork was soft in texture and had infused the flavour of the soup. This place definitely exceeded my expectations so far. But wait, we still had the House Beef Noodle Soup ($7.50) to try. This hypnotizing bowl of goodness is the real deal as I felt the broth was very “clean” and savoury. The beef was extremely tender as if it melted in your mouth. The noodles were fresh and not overly soft which I definitely preferred.

Shanghai Food

I hope one day I can venture off to one of their Asia locations as I have heard they are notably even better!

-Julie

Din Tai Fung 鼎泰豐 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

