Brunching It Out!

Can someone grant me an extra two hours each day so that I can keep up with my blogging? I have discovered a lot of great eats and my never ending list just keeps compiling.If I had more time, I assure you I will be able to capitalize and be up to date with my posts.

A blazing hot sunny day calls for a weekend brunch outing and my boyfriend and I certainly took advantage of that a month ago. We made our way down to Havana Restaurant on Commercial Drive for brunch. I have been here for dinner in the past but never for brunch. I was curious to see what they have to offer for breakfast/lunch. We got seated on the patio with great sunlight and breeze which was a big bonus.

I ordered a Pulled Pork Benny ($12.95) that came with a side of greens. I did not know how I missed the words “cornbread” on the menu. The benny was served on cornbread which was drying and plain. It also crumbled so easily that I had to scoop it with my fork to eat. My boyfriend tried my benny too and he actually enjoyed the uniqueness and sweetness of the corn bread for this dish instead of the usual English muffin. The pulled pork was packed with flavour, but dry at the same time. However, the eggs were poached beautifully and dazzled with hollandaise sauce.

brunch

brunch

My boyfriend opted for the Andouille & Cheese Omelette ($12.95). This was nicely wrapped and fully loaded with Andouille sausage, cheddar cheese, and mushrooms. I thought the eggs were overly pan fried, making it a little dry to consume. It also came with toast and golden hash browns. I always look forward to eating hash browns because they are crunchy and a great filler! The side of hash browns here did not let me down.

Brunch

I was looking forward to eating my benny, but sadly, I preferred it on an English muffin instead of corn bread. I would love to come back to try some of their other great brunch features. My one time bad ordering experience, due to nobody’s fault but my own, will not hold me back from returning!

Julie

Click to add a blog post for Havana on Zomato

Leave a Reply

