It happened.

Whether it is going out with one friend or a group of friends for dinner, I always have a fun time. My friend Betty and I finally got together and visited Sushi by Yuji along Kingsway a month ago for dinner. This place has been on my food list for ages as I have heard many raving reviews about their sushi and fresh seafood. It is a small establishment that gets filled up quickly by eaters coming in to eat.

We ordered the following:

1) Marinated Tuna ($5.50) – The chef must have used a heavy hand on the wasabi, which was mixed in with the sauce throughout the tuna. I generally do love eating wasabi, but to a certain extent. Nevertheless, the tuna itself was fresh and delicious.

japanese

2) Tobiko with Egg ($2.50)and Negitoro with Egg ($2.50) – If a sushi restaurant offers these, you must order these!  I find biting into a raw yolk with rice very satisfying and enjoyable to eat. It just tastes very luscious. Although the price for one is a tad expensive, the quality and taste are certainly there.

sushi

3) Tuna Carpaccio ($7.75) – This was one of my favourite dishes because I love eating high quality and fresh tasting tuna very much. The onions added on top helps complete the dish. Also, the tuna was evenly sliced in thickness.

seafood

4) Ikura Oroshi ($5.75) – Any daikon lovers out there? You may enjoy eating this dish as much as I did. I was not very interested in this at all as I do not generally eat daikon.

ikura oroshi

5) Shiro Roll ($13) – Ultimately, I thought that this roll was not worth the stated price. It is definitely big but there was nothing great about it.

shiro sushi

My boyfriend got jealous that I went without him. I would love to come back with him though to try some of their other specialties on the menu. You definitely pay for the quality at this Japanese restaurant.

Happy Eating!

-Julie

Click to add a blog post for Sushi by Yuji on Zomato

Leave a Reply

