Best Laksa

As an avid noodle soup lover, there are certainly a lot of options to choose from in the Lower Mainland. On this occasion, I was craving for some Malaysian laksa and happened to come across Tamarind Hill in New Westminster. Both locations, this one and the North Vancouver one, offers a wide range of popular Malaysian dishes. On their website, it shows that they offer a lunch and dinner menu. However, when I visited during lunch time on a Sunday, I was only provided with their regular dinner menu which I believe was an honest mistake.

I suggest coming here during lunch time because you get a decent value for their food. I went right when it opened so it was not busy, but I recommend making reservations during busy lunch or dinner hours to avoid the wait. The restaurant is across from Royal City Centre for this particular location and there is also plenty of paid street parking in the area.

Here are the dishes that we ordered:

Singapore Laksa ($10.50)

malaysian laksa

laksa

It is one of their most popular dishes here. The coconut broth had a nice subtle sweetness to it which I did not find too spicy at all. A lot of shrimps were given too along with the rice vermicelli. I should have asked for no bean sprouts though.

Malaysian Laksa ($10.50)

malaysian laksa

laksa

It contained a strong curry soup base that was spicier. This dish may not be for everyone if you do not like curry. It had the same ingredients as the Singapore Laksa.

Overall, I found both dishes to be fairly filling. I consider Tamarind Hill to have one of the tastier laksas in the Lower Mainland! I would definitely return again.

Julie

Click to add a blog post for Tamarind Hill on Zomato

Leave a Reply

