Gyo- O

When in doubt, I can always count on going to Richmond to find good eats! On this particular occasion, I decided to dine at Gyo-O which is a tiny Japanese establishment with cramped seating. They are well known for its kaarage and udon specialities. I’ve ate at this restaurant a few years ago and I remember really enjoying their great dishes.

gyo-O

Spicy Tuna & Salmon Cold Udon

IMG-20150821-WA0019

Do not let the word “spicy” fool  you. I thought it would be very spicy, but it was quite mild to eat. The tuna and salmon were invitingly fresh and delicious to consume. With cold udon, I love the denseness of it as it is very chewy. It was also very appetizing and easy to eat, especially on a hot summer day.

Sesame Miso Nabeyaki Style Udon

IMG-20150821-WA0018

IMG-20150821-WA0021

This particular udon came with a side consisting of prawn tempuras, sliced tuna sashimi, and chicken kaarage. In particular, the chicken kaarage is knowingly very popular here. The meat was very moist and juicy. I am glad that I got to try it. The sesame miso was very enchanting as it had a subtle sweetness to it, leaving a pleasant aftertaste in my mouth.

We were very pleased with everything we had ordered. The only downside about this place is that their proportion is on the smaller side which is not very filling for one. However, I am glad the quality is there and was very satisfied.

-Julie

Gyo-O Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 comments

Leave a Reply

