black sesame

UYU Ice-cream

All in for Ice-cream!

If and when there is a new dessert establishment opening up in town, there is always so much excitement on social media. UYU Ice-cream, located in Gastown, is no exception. The interior has a nice modern white design but was quite compact with little standing room and only a small ledge to sit on along the window. This is a Korean owned soft serve ice-cream establishment and UYU means “milk” in Korean. What I like about this place is that there is a rotation of two new flavours which happens every Monday. I think this is a great idea as I am always on board with trying new flavours and it encourages customers to return often to see what they have in store.

uyu exterior DSC00953

I came here on two separate occasions and I tried out two flavours.

uyu ice-cream

ice-cream

This flavour was good in general, but the Black Sesame was not as strong as I would like it to be. The ice-cream is very rich, creamy, and smooth, but not as dense as Soft Peak’s soft serve. As for the complimentary drizzle, I got the caramel which definitely went well with the black sesame flavoring.

I also got The Original in a cup with two toppings (granola and freeze dried oranges) and I opted for the passion fruit as the complementary drizzle. The granola gave a nice crunch factor as and the freeze dried oranges gave a slight tangy and sweet flavouring. You cannot go wrong with the original milk flavour as all toppings and drizzles will certainly taste well with it. I wish they would give and spread out more of the same toppings on my soft serve as they only decorated one side which left me eating one side with just the ice-cream.

ice-cream

Pricing:

DSC00950Toppings:
DSC00952

drizzles

This is a very good soft serve establishment that has a very good price point for a quality product. I find it hard to choose between Soft Peaks and UYU as they both have similarities and slight differences in terms of what is being offered at their establishments.

-Julie

UYU Ice Cream Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

