Sushi Loku

My friend introduced me to Sushi Loku which is located on East Broadway in Vancouver. I like the fact that it is close to home, but otherwise, I would say this sushi establishment is just mediocre. The presentation of the dishes were definitely very aesthetically appealing. However, that came at a cost as the service was incredibly slow as they took their time in plating the food onto the dishes.

My sister and I shared the following:

Salmon Sashimi – 7 pieces ($8.50)

Sashimi

These fresh thick cut slices of salmon sashimi were on point and I wanted some more in the end.

Chopped Scallop Roll ($3.95)

Chopped Scallop Roll

There is not much to say about this roll as it tastes the same as many other places. However, the rice was slightly mushier than what I would have liked.

Spicy Sunflower Roll ($6.95)

Spicy Sunflower Roll

This roll had prawn tempura, avocado, crab meat and spicy salmon topped with crispy flake, aioli, and spicy mayo. The crispy flakes add a nice, subtle crunchiness to the roll. All ingredients stayed intact perfectly in the sushi as I bit into it. However, it was not notably as spicy to me as I thought it would have been. A decent roll, but nothing extraordinary about it.

Tuna Tataki Roll ($7.50)

Seared Tuna Roll

This roll included prawn tempura, crab meat, avocado and seared tuna with green onion and ponzu sauce added consistently on top. The tuna could have been seared a little more to give it that smokey taste, but otherwise, the roll was amazing.

Most of their special rolls used quite similar ingredients which I thought was quite generic. I hope to find a sushi roll that I really like here when I come back next time.

Sushi Loku Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

