Jin Jiang Shanghai Restaurant

I finally got around to trying Jin Jiang Shanghai Restaurant with E’s family. I have heard about this restaurant from many extended family members and friends who have said nothing but positive things about it. The restaurant is harder to spot right now when you drive down Kingsway due to the construction going on with Best Western Inn. From what I was told, making reservations are highly recommended as tables get filled up quickly during busy hours.

When it comes to eating Shanghai food, we typically order similar items from each restaurant we try.

Seafood Hot / Sour Soup (Small: $8.98)

hot and sour soup

This is probably one of the best hot and sour soups I have ever had. It had just the right amount of hotness to it for me, but it can definitely be too spicy for some. There were a lot of small shrimp and scallop pieces in there!

Sweet Sour Sauce Rock Cod ($16.98)

Rock Cod

I would not order this particular dish here. Although I did like the sweet sour sauce, the meat was too drying and rough with a slight crunch and flakiness to it. I much prefer Shanghai River’s take on this particular dish instead.

Steamed Shanghai Dumplings ($4.98)

Shanghai Dumplings

These were generally good, but would be even better if they had more soup inside. The dumpling skin also had a perfect thickness to it which held a generous amount of pork meat. I love eating my steamy xiao long baos piping hot and these were served out that way!

Shredded Chicken Fried Rice ($11.98)

Fried rice

I am not a big fan of cabbage and this particular dish had a lot of it. For the price, the amount of shredded chicken was lacking and the proportion of the dish was on the smaller side.

Deep Fried Thick Noodle with Shredded Pork ($11.98)

Fried Noodles

This is one of my favorite dishes to order when I eat shanghai food. This one was quite greasy for me, but I really enjoyed the soy sauce mixture with the thick noodles. Sadly, I also found this dish to be smaller in size compared to the one at Dinesty Dumpling House.

Marinated Chicken with Chinese Wine X 2 ( $7.98 each)

Chicken

The chicken was very meaty and tender. Each piece absorbed the Chinese wine nicely. The Chinese wine was not overly strong but enough to provide that pleasant scent and taste. E’s mom and dad absolutely loved this dish! They said it was one of the better ones they’ve had at a restaurant locally.

All in all, I thought some dishes were quite good. Although it isn’t my favourite Shanghai restaurant, Jin Jiang is one of the better ones in my opinion in the Lower Mainland, and definitely in Burnaby. Their pricing is also fairly reasonable. If you know any other good Shanghai restaurants in Greater Vancouver, please let me know!

-Julie

Jin Jiang Shanghai Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

