Yolk’s

546 West Broadway, Vancouver, BC

Yolk’s recently opened another location on Broadway and Cambie so my sister and I decided to check it out. As it was our first time trying Yolk’s, we were very ecstatic about this meal having read many positive reviews on social media. The popularity of this location is very high also with a line up being formed even before opening. We managed to get a seat and soon after the restaurant was completely filled up.

DSC01334

The restaurant is not exceedingly big and seating is a bit too cramped. Nonetheless, the service was spot on as our server was very attentive and welcoming.

Benedict Style ($10.75)

DSC01337

We shared a Hand Carved Honey Ham with Two Eggs Benedict that was served with an English muffin on top and real hollandaise sauce. The egg yolks were pretty runny when we poked into it, but the English muffin was slightly on the tougher side. We also added Truffle-Lemon Hash Browns ($1.50). However, the truffle-lemon taste was nearly non-existent. The hash browns’ texture was too soft and definitely needed more grilling or baking.

Belgian Waffles with English Bangers $9.75

DSC01335

Their take on Belgian Waffles did not meet my expectations. They were dense and served cold. I prefer eating my waffles warm! As well, I think they added a lot of Canadian maple syrup which added A LOT of sweetness to the waffles. I felt like I was eating a very sugary pastry. The English Bangers were pretty tasty at the very least.

Even though it was my first time visiting Yolk’s, I thought the food was just alright. I most likely would not line up again and instead try out other new brunch places.

-Julie

Yolk's Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

