Ramen Danbo

Location :  1833 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver B.C

This Japanese ramen joint is located in Kitsilano area with sparse street parking and I don’t find it very convenient for myself to come here unless I drive. They also now have a location on Robson as well.

DSC01100.JPG

It’s a very small but busy restaurant with excellent service. Danbo specializes in traditional Fukuoka-style Kyushu Hakata Tonkotsu ramen! For this particular ramen joint, I do like the fact that I can customize my own bowl of ramen with choices on the thickness of the noodles (thick/thin), the firmness of the noodles, spiciness, and the thickness and fattiness of the broth.

Blazing Hot Rekka Ramen $10.45

IMG-20160305-WA0027

For this ramen, you can select either 5, 10, 15, or 20 times the standard spiciness. It had a nice spicy tonkotsu pork broth but it wasn’t blazing hot for me as I went with the 15 times spiciness. Next time I will definitely try 20 times! The soup base was rich and savoury. I am not crazy about their noodles. There is only a slight variance between their thick and thin noodles. Their thick noodles aren’t that much wider. Their noodles have a very smooth and straight cut to them compared to other ramen joints which their noodles has slight ridges on them and I definitely prefer that more. The chashu was perfect for me as they were more on the leaner side but with some fat attached to them! I also ordered a soft boiled egg as a topping ($1.50) which had a nice slightly undercooked yolk!

Yakibuta Chashu Pork Ramen $11.95

IMG-20160305-WA0028


This had 6 slices of chashu with a classic pork broth. If you’re a meat lover, I would definitely choose this one. The chashu here is very tender and flavourful.

The proportion is quite small for a bowl of ramen here and I do not find it filling for myself. Therefore, we normally order an extra full bowl of noodles ($2.00) to compensate.

Ramen Danbo Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

5 comments

  1. What is this incredible goodness! The pictures make the food look so extremely delicious; if you were to choose the top 5 ramen in Vancouver, would this make it on the list?

    Like

Leave a Reply

