JY NOODLE (WILLINGDON AVENUE, BURNABY)

Please note that this was a sponsored meal, but all opinions are my own. I would like to thank ChineseBites and JY Noodle (No. 1 Beef Noodle House )for having me! I haven’t been here since I was a teenager so the restaurant has been redecorated. The parking lot is still a pain to park at with a lot of restricted parking spots. I suggest parking near Moscrop Secondary school which is free as well.

Special Home Style Beef Noodle Soup

dsc03356

dsc03361

I love eating beef noodle soup in general, but this one was not my favorite. There was not much depth to the soup base. I also prefer wide noodles over the thin noodles they used.

Crispy Salty Peppery Chicken

dsc03358

When you’re at a Taiwanese restaurant, ordering this is a must.  They make it so well that it was very enjoyable to eat with their thin, non-existent crispy skin with a lot of meat! They’re super delicious and very addictive.

Traditional Deep Fried Pork Chop

dsc03313

This was a huge hit for me! I liked the black peppery taste to it. I wish it came with a bowl of rice!

Hainanese Chicken

dsc03299

What I didn’t like about this dish was the fact that it was mostly chicken skin and not enough meat. Also, the sweet chili sauce was unavailable so it made the dish seem incomplete.

Braised Chicken with Hua-Diao Wine

dsc03319

These boneless chicken were tender and had a good bite to it. I enjoyed the flavours very much due to the decently intense wine taste.

Sichuan Spicy Lamb Hotpot

dsc03317

I couldn’t handle the spiciness of this dish. It gave me a numbing sensation in my mouth that wasn’t too pleasant. Also, it burns in your mouth. I would like to say that chili peppers are not for me!

Ground Pork Sauce & Marinated Egg on Rice

dsc03292

There was a generous amount of well marinated ground pork was bedded on top of white rice. For this dish, I always dive into the pickled mustard greens because I like the sourness it brings.

Korean Kimchi Fried Rice with Beef

dsc03296

You can taste the subtle spiciness from the kimchi. It was filled with flavour and texture.

Black Pepper Sauce Beef Steak

dsc03304

The beef steak tasted strikingly odd. The texture was so soft that I felt like I was eating fake beef! I didn’t like the aftertaste it gave. It looked like a good dish to eat, but I was wrong.

Stir Fried Ginger Beef

dsc03333

This dish was way too sweet. The coating was too heavy that it tasted like candy and I couldn’t taste the beef at all!

Overall, I thought the food was mediocre. It’s passable if you’re just looking for a quick cheap bite around the area.

For more information visit their website: JY Noodle

Julie

JY Noodle - No. 1 Beef Noodle House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 comments

Leave a Reply

